Mother’s Day

It’s kinda early this year. My mom died two years ago on April 28, 2009. So the month of April sucks for me. And here comes Mother’s Day. Were she alive we would be taking bagels and spicy cream cheese to visit; she would have fresh strawberries to dip in chocolate. But she’s not with us so I plant tulips for her and place solar butterflies in the flower pots (she loved butterflies).

My mom died when she did because she didn’t have a cancer screening for colon cancer: by the time she went to the doctor the cancer had spread to her liver. Too late. I didn’t know it though: the doctors performed unnecessary surgery. They robbed her family of proper goodbyes. Morbid  maybe to have this in the front of my mind. I can’t forgive the doctors yet.  My family misses her so much.

My mom would always bake lasagna for my husband’s  birthday, his favorite dish. I haven’t been able to make it for him yet, maybe this year. My mom and daughter were extremely close: she spent every other weekend at Gramma’s house.  My daughter cries in private.

How about your Mom?

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Death, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment